Maine’s auto insurance laws are among the most robust in the US, with high minimum liability coverages. These levels are fixed at 50/100/25. Maine drivers are also required to have medical insurance (Medpay) and uninsured/underinsured motor vehicle insurance (UM/UIM).
Despite these high minimums, insurance premiums in Maine are on the low end. the average cost for a minimum insurance policy in Maine is $227; That number jumps to $782 when you add optional collision and collision damage waiver.
However, it should be noted that while the minimum coverage amounts are quite high, they may not be enough in the event of a serious accident or mishap. Maine drivers should consider getting as much insurance, particularly liability insurance, as they can afford. from an insurer that understands the needs of Maine drivers.
Auto insurance laws in Maine
To meet Maine auto insurance requirements, you must purchase various types of coverage from your insurer. Although there are additional coverage options that you can add to your policy, Maine insurance laws indicate that you need at least the following:
- $50,000 Personal Injury Liability per person per accident
- $100,000 joint liability for personal injury per accident (if more than one person is injured)
- $25,000 liability for property damage
- Medpay coverage of $2,000
- UM/UIM personal injury liability of $50,000 per person; $100,000 total per accident
Liability insurance in Maine
the liability Part of your insurance coverage means that you are responsible, through your insurance company, for paying the medical and other expenses incurred by the driver or passengers in an accident at fault. Property damage liability, on the other hand, means that you are liable for damage to the other person’s car or property, such as a car. B. a fence or light pole adhere.
As the name suggests, Medpay insurance covers the medical costs for you or your passengers. UM/UIM coverage kicks in when you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver and they are at fault.
For example, if you’re hit by another car and your injuries result in $40,000 in medical bills, your UM insurance is available to pay those bills if the other driver is illegally driving without a license — or if you’re injured cost more than their coverage limits.
Medpay is usually used in the case of minor injuries or loss of wages in the event of an accident. It can also cover you if you are hit by a car as a pedestrian or cyclist. Although the minimum – $2,000 – is pretty low, you can get additional Medpay insurance for a reasonable price.
Is Maine a Faultless State?
Maine is not one of the 12 states of the USA flawless condition. In error-free states, drivers must carry Personal Injury Insurance (PIP). In these states, you would contact your own insurer to report a claim and not the other driver’s company if they were at fault.
In Maine, you can bring another driver to court if necessary.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Maine
You should carry proof of insurance with you at all times while in Maine. If you fail to present your insurance card when asked by a police officer, you will be fined between $100 and $500. You may also have your driver’s license revoked if you do not provide proof of insurance within 30 days, and your registration may be revoked.
Additional options for Maine auto insurance coverage
In addition to the minimum requirements for Maine motor vehicle insurance, there are others optional coverage types that you can add to your policy. The cost of this depends on a number of factors, from the age of your car to your own credit history. Some common optional coverages include:
- Collision: In order to protect your car after an accident with damage, you need comprehensive insurance. If your car is old and not worth much this may not be essential, but for a newer car it makes sense to get comprehensive insurance.
- Full: Comprehensive covers damage to your car from non-accidental breakdowns, including theft and vandalism.
- Deductible for medical services: This provides additional coverage on top of your basic MedPay, which may only cost a few thousand dollars.
- gap insurance: If your car is totaled, your insurance company will pay you a payout based on the car’s depreciation. But what if you owe more than that on your car loan? Gap insurance can pay the difference between what you are entitled to and what you owe, so you are not burdened with the cost of paying back the loan.
- Replacement for new cars: If your new (two-year-old or younger) car is totaled and you have new car replacement insurance, your insurer will give you enough money to buy a new model of the same car instead of paying you the depreciation value.
- Carpooling: If you’re driving for Uber or another ride-sharing company, this is important coverage, as using a car for business purposes isn’t covered by plain auto insurance.
frequently asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in Maine?
There are a number of auto insurance companies that offer excellent policies for Maine drivers at a reasonable price. We encourage you to start your search with us Best Auto Insurance Companies in Maine 2021 List and get quotes from multiple insurers to see who best fits your needs.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Maine?
There is no single car insurance that always has the lowest prices. The insurer that gives your neighbor a low rate may not do it for you. A good starting point for your search is ours Cheap car insurance from 2021 Side. We recommend getting multiple quotes to see who is best for your own circumstances.
Do I need more than the minimum insurance in Maine?
Insurance experts suggest that you get as much liability insurance as you can comfortably afford. Although Maine’s minimum requirements are quite high, in the event of a major accident involving multiple injuries, the minimum may not be enough to cover all medical expenses.