As with most states, Connecticut auto insurance requirements are set by the state government and must be met to legally drive. Connecticut requires liability insurance to cover both property damage and personal injury if you are at fault in an accident. It also requires that you take out uninsured / underinsured motorist insurance in case the other driver is uninsured or underinsured to pay the bills.
Connecticut auto insurance is a minimum of 25/50/25, along with 25/50 for underinsured / uninsured drivers. However, just because these are your minimum required amounts does not mean that you will adequately cover this sum insured in the event of a serious accident.
You should buy as much insurance as you can afford to offer you the most comprehensive insurance coverage possible. It costs more, but it can be worthwhile in the long run. the Average cost The minimum coverage in Connecticut is $ 672 while full coverage is $ 1,605.
Connecticut Motor Insurance Laws
Here’s a breakdown of what your car insurance must include in order for you to drive legally:
- $ 25,000 personal injury insurance per accident per person
- $ 50,000 personal injury coverage per accident, total (if more than one person is injured)
- $ 25,000 property damage
- $ 25,000 per accident per person for uninsured or underinsured drivers
- $ 50,000 total per accident for uninsured or underinsured drivers
In summary, this means that if you have the minimum statutory insurance and have an accident through your own fault, your insurance company will cover medical costs or lost wages up to $ 25,000 if the other driver or passenger is injured. If more than one person is injured, your total insurance will cover up to $ 50,000.
You’re also covered for up to $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident if the other person drives illegally without insurance or without sufficient insurance to cover your expenses.
Connecticut Liability Insurance
Liability insurance is at the heart of Connecticut’s insurance law. Liability means that you are responsible for something – in the case of insurance, it is either medical costs and other costs related to personal injury and property damage.
but the minimum requirement is enough? Insurance professionals generally agree that you should get as much insurance as possible. For example, think of an accident in which the other driver causes internal injuries that require surgery. Medical costs in the US are high and your minimum of $ 25,000 could be used up in a matter of days.
Or think of the ramifications if you hit a high-end car like a BMW or Tesla that’s worth far more than the minimum requirement of $ 25,000. If you hit a $ 40,000 SUV and add it up, your insurance company would only pay $ 25,000 – you’d have to pay the extra $ 15,000 out of pocket.
It’s a good idea to weigh your tolerance for risk and your ability to pay the premiums against these minimums and purchase additional liabilities like 100/300/100. It may cost you more now, but it can save your life in a serious accident.
Is Connecticut a healthy state?
Because Connecticut does not include this item in its insurance requirements, you do not need PIP insurance and you retain the right to file a lawsuit in the event of an accident.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Connecticut
There are several penalties imposed by the state government for not having auto insurance in Connecticut. Even if you have insurance, you could be fined $ 50.
If you don’t have auto insurance, you could be fined between $ 100 and $ 1,000 and your driver’s license could be suspended. If you own a vehicle with a commercial registration, this fine increases up to $ 5,000 and can include jail time. There is also a $ 175 license reinstatement cost, and other fines may apply depending on your situation.
Additional options for auto insurance coverage in Connecticut
Liability and UM / UIM coverage aren’t the only types of insurance available to Connecticut drivers. Most insurance companies offer it additional coverage options worth considering, including the following:
- Collision: Liability pays for damage to the car and property of the other driver, but for your car to be insured, you need collision insurance. As the name suggests, collision insurance covers damage to your car in the event of an accident.
- Full: Usually sold together with a collision, fully comprehensive insurance covers all breakdowns that could happen to your car except an accident.
- Medical payments: This covers the medical costs for you or your passengers in the event of an accident where you are not covered by the other driver’s insurance. It also covers lost wages and funeral expenses and can even cover you if you are a pedestrian hit by a car. It can overlap with your health insurance. So be sure to check out this policy to see what’s covered before getting any health insurance.
- Gap insurance: If you have an accident that causes your car to skyrocket, you may not be able to get enough insurance benefits to cover the total cost of an outstanding loan on the car due to the car’s depreciation. This coverage will make up for this difference so you don’t have to pay out of pocket.
- New car replacement: Similar to the coverage gap, this type of confirmation in your policy pays for the purchase of a new car of the same type if your newer vehicle model is totaled.
- Reporting on ridesharing: If you are driving for Uber or any other ride-sharing company, you will need this coverage as regular auto insurance will not cover you if you are using your car for business.
frequently asked Questions
What is the Best Connecticut Auto Insurance?
The best car insurance policy does not exist – the company that offers your neighbor the best rate may not be the best choice for you. We recommend that you obtain several quotes from insurers before making a decision. A good place to start your search is our list of Best Auto Insurance Company in Connecticut.
What is the cheapest auto insurance in Connecticut?
It is a good idea to do your research for auto insurance and get multiple quotes to see which insurer offers you the best rates for the most comprehensive coverage. Check out our Cheapest auto insurance in Connecticut List to see who is currently offering the lowest prices.
Is it enough to meet the minimum requirements for Connecticut car insurance?
Connecticut’s minimum liability is 25/50/25 for liability and 25/50 for uninsured and underinsured driver liability. This amount would be enough to cover you in the event of a minor accident, but it may be neglected in the event of serious injury or significant property damage in the event of an accident. If you can afford to increase your insurance coverage, we encourage you to do so.